Skip to content

Komets announce 2021-2022 End-of-Season awards

Fort Wayne, IN—The Komets announced their End-of-Season awards as voted on by the team, media, and fans.  The awards were presented as follows: 

NOB Brick Award for the Stonewall Defensive Forward of the season, sponsored by Nob Brick and Fireplace.  The winner can be counted on by the head coach to play a sound defensive game at both ends of the rink, no matter what the situation. 

Winner: Will Graber

Unsung Hero Award The "5/30" award in tribute to Robbie Irons and the late Terry Pembroke, two longtime Komet players and members of the Komets Hall of Fame.  This award is given to the player whose hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke.  The award is sponsored by the Komet Legends. 

Winner: Zach Tolkinen 

Komet Defenseman of the Year Award for the Komet defenseman and his overall play at both ends of the rink.  His teammates count on him to help move the puck up the ice, work the power play and kill penalties.  Sponsored by the Komet Hockey Club. 

Winner: Connor Corcoran 

 Komet Rookie of the Year Award for the player who had not played more than 25 games at the pro level prior to this season.  Sponsored by the Komet Hockey Club and Foss Folk family. 

Winner: Sam Harvey 

Komets Most Improved Player Award for the player showing the most improvement in his game from the beginning of the season to the end.  Player must have been on the Komet roster all season long to qualify.  Sponsored by the Komet Hockey Club. 

Winner: Oliver Cooper

Wiegmann Family "True Komet" Award for the player that best exemplifies team spirit and positive attitude on and off the ice.  Sponsored by the Wiegmann family. 

Winner: Anthony Petruzzelli 

Mr. Hustle Award This award takes into account a player's personal statistics (i.e. goals, assists, on-ice hits at home) and a player's overall up-tempo style of game.  Sponsored by the Stratman family. 

Winner: Kellen Jones 

The Komets Most Valuable Player award, knows as the Foss Folk Memorial Trophy sponsored by the Folk Family and voted on by the Komet players.

Winner: Will Graber

The Komets will begin the defense of the Kelly Cup versus Wheeling this Friday, April 22nd at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum.


Central Division Semi-Final 

Game 1 @ Fort Wayne Friday, April 22nd 8:00 p.m.

Game 2 @ Fort Wayne Saturday, April 23rd 7:30 p.m.

Game 3 @ Wheeling Wednesday, April 27th 7:10 p.m. 

Game 4 @ Wheeling Friday, April 29th 7:10 p.m.

Game 5 @ Wheeling Saturday, April 30th 7:10 p.m. (if necessary)

Game 6 @ Fort Wayne TBA (if necessary)

Game 7 @ Fort Wayne TBA (if necessary)