Komets roster of 21 to open season

Fort Wayne, IN -- The Komets will open their inaugural ECHL campaign and 61st season overall tonight at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne with a roster of 21 players against the rival Kalamazoo Wings at 8pm.

Prior to tonight’s opener, the Komets announced that their NHL affiliate Anaheim Ducks have reassigned goaltender Marco Cousineau and forward Josh Brittain to Fort Wayne from Norfolk’s AHL training camp.

Cousineau, 22, was selected by Anaheim in round 3 of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.  The netminder made his pro debut with Elmira in the ECHL 2010-11 and last season played six AHL games with Syracuse, 25 games with Allen in the CHL and one game with Elmira in the ECHL. 

Brittain, 22, also was selected by Anaheim in round 3 of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft and made his pro debut in 2010-11 with 13 games in Syracuse of the AHL while also skating 38 games with Elmira in the ECHL.  The left wing split last season appearing in stints with Syracuse and Elmira.  

The Komets also announced today that forward Robbie Smith and defenseman Kyle Atkins have been released.

Fort Wayne will open 2011-12 with a roster including 11 forwards, seven defensemen and three goaltenders.  Forwards:  Brandon Marino, Cory Schneider, Eric Giosa, Matt Firman, Stephon Thorne, Brett Smith, Chris Auger, J.M. Rizk, Brittain, Kaleigh Schrock and Colin Chaulk.  Defensemen:  Scott Kishel, Daniel Nycholat, Daniel Maggio, Ryan Hegarty, Tyler Butler, Brent Henley and Jeremy Gates.  Goaltenders:  Charlie Effinger, Kenny Reiter and Cousineau.  Cousineau, Kishel and Schneider will start the season on the reserve list.

Tickets on sale—Still plenty of tickets remain on sale for tonight’s home opener at 8pm.  Tickets can be purchased at the Coliseum Ticket Office and online at TicketMaster.com.  Season tickets are still on sale at the Komet office, 1010 Memorial Way, Fort Wayne.  For information visit www.komets.com, or call 260-483-0011. 

Go Komets!